Roundup Products Liability Litigation (MDL)

3:16-md-02741-VC
No description
Not judged
United States, Northern District of California

Farmers, Landscapers
Hardeman (3:16-cv-00525), Stevick (3:16-cv-02341), Gebeyehou (3:16-cv-05813), Penrod (3:16-cv-5901), Bridgeman (3:16-cv-00812), Means (3:16-cv-05753), Giglio (3:15-cv-02279-BTM-WVG), Nash-Boulden (18-02028), Vacante (18-02079), Walker (18-02080), Subers (18-05274), Petty et al (18-00293), Ottinger (18-01370), Adelson (17-01095), Cash (18-01000)...
Monsanto, Ragan and Massey, Inc
Aimee Wagstaff, David J. Wool, Kathryn M. Forgie, Lori E. Andrus, Vance R. Andrus, Robin Greenwald, Michael Miller, Michael L. Baum, Edward A. Wallace, Corey G. Lorenz, Yvonne M. Flaherty, Caroline C. Schadle, Tesfaye Wolde Tsadik, Anthony P. Ellis, Jennifer A. Moore, Timothy Litzenburg

Civil court
Multi-district litigation
Glyphosate, Roundup, Herbicide
Compensatory damages, economic damages in the form of medical expenses, out of pocket expenses, lost earnings, Punitive and/or exemplary damages for the wanton, willful, fraudulent, and reckless acts of the defendants, Pre and Post-judgment interest, Plaintiff reasonable attorneys’ fees, the costs of these proceedings.
District court of Northern District of California, United States
Court

Many legal complaints (1654 as of October 2018 - up to 125,000 in June 2020) against Monsanto from Roundup users diagnosed with non-Hodgkin's lymphomas have been regrouped at the Northern District of California District Court. 7/10/2018, Judge Vince Chhabria concluded a reasonable jury could find that glyphosate can cause non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma at exposure levels people realistically may have experienced. First case is Hardeman v. Monsanto (3:16-cv-00525). Hearings have begun on 2/25/2018. Then there will be the cases of Stevick v. Monsanto that is planned for Feb. 24, 2020 and Gebeyehou v. Monsanto (3:16-cv-0581). On Jan. 3, the judge decided to "bifurcate" the 3 bellwether cases, which means that only the evidence that Roundup contributed to the plaintiffs' cancer will be examined in a first phase, and only if the answer is yes will Monsanto's pressuring and lobbying tricks be examined. Following the 1st verdict (Hardeman v. Monsanto), the judge ordered the plaintiffs' and defendants' lawyers to meet quickly to consider out-of-court settlements. He appoints Kenneth Feinberg as mediator. He had managed the compensation fund after September 11 and the one due to the explosion of the BP Deepwater Horizon oil rig in the Gulf of Mexico. In 1984, he mediated the class-action lawsuit brought by 250,000 Vietnam War veterans against the manufacturers of Agent Orange. On 5/30/2019, Monsanto asks that Roundup cancer lawsuits be moved out of California. On 6/14/2019, Judge partly grants the request (for some cases). On June 24, Bayer settles U.S. Roundup, dicamba and PCB litigation for more than $10 billion. Plaintiffs Johnson, Hardeman and Pilliods, which cases have been appealed, are not part of the agreement. On 7/6/2020, a preliminary order from Judge Chhabria states that the Court is skeptical of the propriety and fairness of the proposed settlement, and is tentatively inclined to deny the motion. On 7/8/2020, Bayer withdraws proposal for class action settlement of future Roundup claims. On 8/26/2020, Judge Chhabria said he’s concerned Bayer has “manipulated” the settlement process since announcing its plan in June and will revisit in a month whether to keep the litigation on hold for settlement talks to continue or to let more trials proceed. On Sept. 14, 2020, a final settlement with three major law firms representing thousands of plaintiffs is reached. The firms each filed notification of the deals with the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of California. Bayer says that it is making progress in the development of a “revised” plan to resolve potential future Roundup litigation.

Roundup Products Liability Litigation (MDL)

3:16-md-02741-VC
Non renseigné
Non jugée
États-Unis, Northern District of California

Agriculteurs, Paysagistes
Hardeman (3:16-cv-00525), Stevick (3:16-cv-02341), Gebeyehou (3:16-cv-05813), Penrod (3:16-cv-5901), Bridgeman (3:16-cv-00812), Means (3:16-cv-05753), Giglio (3:15-cv-02279-BTM-WVG), Nash-Boulden (18-02028), Vacante (18-02079), Walker (18-02080), Subers (18-05274), Petty et al (18-00293), Ottinger (18-01370), Adelson (17-01095), Cash (18-01000)...
Monsanto, Ragan and Massey, Inc
Aimee Wagstaff, David J. Wool, Kathryn M. Forgie, Lori E. Andrus, Vance R. Andrus, Robin Greenwald, Michael Miller, Michael L. Baum, Edward A. Wallace, Corey G. Lorenz, Yvonne M. Flaherty, Caroline C. Schadle, Tesfaye Wolde Tsadik, Anthony P. Ellis, Jennifer A. Moore, Timothy Litzenburg

Civil
Litige multi-district
Glyphosate, Roundup, Herbicide
Dommages et intérêts compensatoires, dommages et intérêts pécuniaires pour frais médicaux, dépenses personnelles, pertes de revenus, dommages et intérêts punitifs et/ou exemplaires pour les actions délibérés, frauduleuses et imprudentes des défendeurs, intérêts avant et après jugement, honoraires raisonnables des avocats, frais de ces procédures.
District court de Northern District of California, États-Unis
1ère Instance

De très nombreuses plaintes (1654 en octobre 2018, 125.000 en juin 2020) contre Monsanto par des utilisateurs de pesticides soufrant de lymphome non-hodgkinien ont été regroupées à la cour fédérale de San Francisco. 10/7/2018: le juge Vince Chhabria permet que les plaintes soient portées en justice. Le premier de ces procès est Hardeman Contre Monsanto (3:16-cv-00525) qui a débuté le 25/2/2019. Ce seront ensuite les affaires Stevick Contre Monsanto, prévue pour débuter le 24 février 2020 et Gebeyehou Contre Monsanto (3:16-cv-05813). Le 3 janvier 2019, le juge décide de "bifurquer" les 3 affaires "bellwether", ce qui signifie que ne seront examinées dans une 1ère phase que les preuves que le Roundup a contribué au cancer des plaignants, et seulement si la réponse est oui seront examinées les manœuvres de Monsanto pour convaincre et faire pression. Suite au 1er verdict (Hardeman Contre Monsanto), le juge ordonne aux avocats des plaignants et des défendeurs de se rencontrer rapidement pour envisager des transactions hors tribunaux. Il nomme Kenneth Feinberg médiateur. Celui-ci avait géré le fond de compensation post sept.11 et celui dû à l'explosion de la plateforme BP deepwater Horizon dans le golfe du Mexique. En 1984, il a été médiateur dans l'action de classe portée par 250.000 vétérans de la guerre du Vietnam intoxiqués par l'Agent Orange. Le 30/05/2019, Monsanto demande que les procès soient déplacés hors de Californie. Le 14/06/2019, le juge fait droit en partie à cette demande, pour certaines affaires. Le 24 Juin, Bayer annonce l'accord qui règle les procès du Roundup, dicamba et PCB aux États-Unis pour plus de 10 milliards de dollars. Les plaignants Johnson, Hardeman et Pilliods, dont les affaires ont fait l'objet d'un appel, ne font pas partie de l'accord. Le 6/7/2020, une ordonnance préliminaire du juge Chhabria déclare que la Cour est sceptique quant au bien-fondé et à l'équité du règlement proposé, et est provisoirement encline à rejeter la proposition. Le 8/7/2020, Bayer retire sa proposition de règlement des recours collectifs pour les futures poursuites autour du Roundup.