PAN Europe et al v. Belgian State

249.843
January 21, 2019
Provisional judgment
Belgium, Brussels

Environmental NGOs
PAN Europe, Nature et Progrès Belgique, Benoît Dupret
Belgian State
Antoine Bailleux

Administrative
Summary proceedings
Insecticide, Neonicotinoid, Thiamethoxam, Clothianidin, Cruiser 600 FS, Poncho Beta
Cancellation of six decisions authorizing the use of insecticides based on "neonicotinoid" active substances banned in the European Union; suspension of the execution of these decisions.
Council of State, administrative litigation section of Brussels, Belgium
Court

February 16, 2021
Partially Positive
The Council of State decides to reopen the proceedings and refers five questions to the Court of Justice of the European Union for a preliminary ruling.
National law

The applicants seek the cancellation of six decisions authorizing the use of insecticides based on neonicotinoid active substances banned in the European Union and the suspension of the execution of those decisions. On June 5, 2019, Judgment 244.702 rejects the request for suspension of the execution of the contested act and reserves the decision. On June 20, 2019, the applicants request the continuation of the proceedings. On February 16, 2021, the Council of State decides to reopen the proceedings and to ask the following questions to the Court of Justice of the European Union:
1/ Is Article 53 of Regulation (EC) No 1107/2009 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 21 October 2009 concerning the placing of plant protection products on the market and repealing Council Directives 79/117/EEC and 91/414/EEC to be interpreted as allowing a Member State to grant, under certain conditions, an authorisation relating to the treatment, sale or sowing of seeds treated with plant protection products?
2. If the answer to the first question is yes, can Article 53 apply, under certain conditions, to plant protection products containing active substances the marketing or use of which is restricted or prohibited in the territory of the European Union?
3/ Do the "special circumstances" required by Article 53 of the above-mentioned Regulation cover situations in which the occurrence of a danger is not certain but only plausible?
4/ Do the "special circumstances" required by article 53 of the above-mentioned regulation cover situations for which the occurrence of a danger is foreseeable, ordinary and even cyclical?
5/ Is the expression "which cannot be contained by other reasonable means" used in Article 53 of the Regulation to be interpreted as giving equal importance, in the light of the terms of recital 8 in the preamble to the Regulation, to ensuring a high level of protection of human and animal health and the environment, on the one hand, and to preserving the competitiveness of Community agriculture, on the other?

PAN Europe et al Contre État belge

249.843
21 janvier 2019
Jugement provisoire
Belgique, Bruxelles

ONG environnementales
PAN Europe, Nature et Progrès Belgique, Dupret Benoît
État belge
Antoine Bailleux

Administratif
Action en référé
Insecticide, Néonicotinoïde, Thiaméthoxame, Clothianidine, Cruiser 600 FS, Poncho Beta
Annulation de six décisions autorisant l’utilisation d’insecticides à base de substances actives "néonicotinoïdes" interdites dans l’Union européenne; suspension de l’exécution de ces décisions.
Conseil d'État, section du contentieux administratif de Bruxelles, Belgique
1ère Instance

16 février 2021
Positif partiel
Le Conseil d'État décide que les débats sont rouverts et transmet cinq questions préjudicielles à la Cour de justice de l'Union européenne.
Loi nationale

Les requérants demandent l’annulation de six décisions autorisant l’utilisation d’insecticides à base de substances actives néonicotinoïdes interdites dans l’Union européenne et la suspension de l’exécution de ces décisions. Le 5 juin 2019, l’arrêt 244.702 rejette la demande de suspension de l’exécution de l’acte attaqué et réserve les dépens. Le 20 juin 2019, les requérants demandent la poursuite de la procédure. Le 16 février 2021, le Conseil d'État décide de rouvrir les débats et de poser les questions suivantes à la Cour de justice de l'Union européenne :
1/ L’article 53 du règlement (CE) n° 1107/2009 du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 21 octobre 2009 concernant la mise sur le marché des produits phytopharmaceutiques et abrogeant les directives 79/117/CEE et 91/414/CEE du Conseil doit-il être interprété comme permettant à un État membre d’accorder, dans certaines conditions, une autorisation relative au traitement, à la vente ou au semis de semences traitées à l’aide de produits phytopharmaceutiques ?
2/ En cas de réponse affirmative à la première question, l’article 53 précité peut-il s’appliquer, dans certaines conditions, aux produits phytopharmaceutiques qui contiennent des substances actives dont la mise en vente ou l’usage sont restreints ou interdits sur le territoire de l’Union européenne ?
3/ Les « circonstances particulières » exigées par l’article 53 du règlement précité couvrent-elles des situations pour lesquelles la survenance d’un danger n’est pas certaine mais seulement plausible ?
4/ Les « circonstances particulières » exigées par l’article 53 du règlement précité couvrent-elles des situations pour lesquelles la survenance d’un danger est prévisible, ordinaire et même cyclique ?
5/ L’expression « qui ne peut être maîtrisé par d’autres moyens raisonnables » utilisée à l’article 53 du règlement doit-elle être interprétée en ce sens qu’elle accorde une égale importance, compte tenu des termes du considérant n° 8 du règlement, d’une part, à la garantie d’un niveau élevé de protection de la santé humaine et animale et de l’environnement, et, d’autre part, à la préservation de la compétitivité de l’agriculture communautaire ?